RSS

Where Is Belarus, Anyway?

04 May
Where Is Belarus, Anyway?

Another card made it’s way to my mailbox today. This one came from Belarus. Now, I know that Belarus used to be part of the USSR but I really have no idea where exactly it is. To that end, I did a Google search (don’t you just love Google maps?).

Ok, now at least I have some idea where it is. As well, I recognized name of the city of Minsk. Tacciana sent me a space-related card. The caption is all in what I assume is Russian (or Belarusian?) and I have no idea what it says.

When I looked up Barys Kit on Google, all I got were links to a Hollywood reporter named Boris Kit. I don’t think this is him. If anyone can steer me in the right direction, I’d be grateful. I’m learning “stuff”. I love it!

Thank you, Tacciana!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 4, 2012 in Received

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Where Is Belarus, Anyway?

  1. Zoé from France

    April 18, 2015 at 10:24 am

    Hello.

    I’ve searched about this “Барыс Кіт” after reading this post, and he’s apparently a mathematician/physicist who worked in space research.
    http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barys_Kit

    I didn’t know about him, so I’m glad I did the research because I love mathematics. (I actually collect stamps that picture mathematicians and physicists.)

    I know that this post was written in 2012, but I thought I’d answer to it anyway, since there hasn’t been any comment 🙂 . Your blog makes me want to try postcrossing, maybe I’ll sign up !

    A good day to you.

     
    • Ev

      April 18, 2015 at 10:32 am

      Thank you, Zoe! I’m glad you took the time to look into this. We’ve both learned something. You SHOULD check out Postcrossing; it really is fun and interesting. I love getting cards from all over this world.

       

Leave a comment