RSS

In and Out… another active week

14 Jun
In and Out… another active week

Well, this has been another busy Postcrossing week. Actually, it’s been a busy week; it’s hard to believe that tomorrow is already Friday. I guess that’s what happens when your job changes, and gets even busier. Instead of just working the production end of the printing business, I’m now working the front end as well. Too bad I can’t clone myself.

Postcrossing, yes. Two postcards have arrived in as many days. Yesterday, a card arrived from Belarus, the second one from there. This one is a night view of the Hotel D’Europe in Minsk. It’s quite the view, wouldn’t you agree? Helen writes that Minsk is a beautiful, green city with a city centre made up of old but restored buildings. Lovely!

I really like the stamp, too. It reminds me of stamps I used to collect as a child (I used to collect stamps; my collection is still somewhere around here). The stamp does bring back some good memories. Thank you, Helen!

The second card arrived today, and fluttered out of the mailbox as I picked up the other mail. I love how the postcards do that… They flutter to the ground; They don’t fall, they flutter.

I digress. This card is the first I’ve received from France. That makes it special. I love this street view. It’s so inviting. Fred even writes that this is the little street where he likes to meet friends and where he goes to drink a good Belgian beer. I agree; this looks like the perfect spot to meet up with friends. I’m not sure I’d go for the Belgian beer, though; wine is a little more to my liking.

Merci Fred!! Je l’aime beaucoup!

A couple of cards have gone out as well this week. The first one is going to the Netherlands (again).

The recipient lives in a town in the northern province of Friesland; if you remember, that’s the area my parents came from. I grew up hearing the names of some of the local towns and Bolsward was one of them. That’s where this card is headed.

This next card will be winging its way to Finland.

This overlooks the lake from a park near Kelowna’s downtown core. Seriously, it’s just a 10 minute walk from the heart of Kelowna. This sculpture was created by a local artist of Dutch descent, Geert Maas. He is, apparently, known internationally. All I know is that I like this piece and it’s the perfect location for it.

The third card that went out this week will be making its way to Taiwan, the first card I’ve sent there.

This is a card I purchased, as was the card going to the Netherlands. I like to make my own postcards, but when I come across cards that I really like, I’ll buy them. The RCMP (Royal Canadian Mounted Police) are one of Canada’s most iconic symbols, as are the Rocky Mountains in the background (they really are very spectacular!). In reality, the red serge uniforms are only for special, ceremonial occasions. And for postcards.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 14, 2012 in Destination complete, Received, Sending

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “In and Out… another active week

  1. Sartenada

    January 14, 2013 at 11:07 pm

    I love that Royal Canadian Mounted Police postcard. It is terrific.

     

Leave a Reply

 
