RSS

A Week of Firsts

30 Jun
A Week of Firsts

There were four firsts this week! I received three cards, all from countries I’ve not received from before and today a card is going out to a country I’ve not sent to before. Not bad at all! First, a little digression, though. Last night, I hosted a girls’ night out; we had a lovely dinner and some lively conversation. I brought out a few of the postcards I’ve received and all the girls were interested. I’m hoping at least one or two of them are interested enough to start Postcrossing; they’ve all seen how much fun I’m having.

Ok, the cards… the first card that arrived this week came from Japan. This is such a peaceful scene! After I’d registered the card, the sender posted a comment to the picture of the card with a link to the place this picture was taken.

It’s a place called Matsue Castle, and this is the castle moat, called the Horikawa. There is more information on the website which you can find here (link will open on a new page).

The next two cards arrived yesterday. The first is from Slovenia. You know? I’m starting to realize that I really like the multi-view cards. I find that they give a broader view of a location than the single picture cards. That is not to say I dislike the single picture cards… I digress.

At the beginning of this post, I mentioned our dinner party last night. Well, when one of the ladies saw this card, she said she’d been on this lake! That took me by surprise! Very cool. And a very beautiful place! Apparently, according to Majda (the sender), on the island, there is only the castle and a restaurant. Can you imagine living in a place like this?

The final card arrived from Spain, the land of Don Quixote. You never really realize just how big these windmills are until you see a picture like this one.

Check out the size of the people walking around the mills and compare them to the size of the mills. These buildings are pretty big! I love the hedgehog sticker, too.

Going out this week are two cards, one to Finland and one to Hungary. That’s the last of the firsts. This will be my first card to Hungary. The recipient mentioned in her profile that autumn is her favourite season, so I’m sending her a card with the Mission Creek Greenway in the autumn, one of my favourite cards (autumn is also my favourite season).

And, finally, this card will be winging its way to Finland.

The recipient said in her profile that she loves music. This is one of the cards I received in my Pomegranate order. It’s different, but it definitely is music-related. I wonder if she likes the blues.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 30, 2012 in Destination complete, Received, Sending

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “A Week of Firsts

  1. Annmarie

    June 30, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    I am jealous of the card from Spain!

     
    • Ev

      June 30, 2012 at 9:03 pm

      It’s a pretty neat card, isn’t it?

       
  2. Pincodezone

    August 2, 2017 at 9:31 am

    The postal card you’ve shared are really beautiful, And i really like this postal card
    Thank you for sharing

     

Leave a Reply

 
