RSS

Three More

09 Feb

The last two days have each seen more cards arriving. One arrived on Thursday and I’m sure you can tell instantly, as I did, where it’s from.

Zeeland

It is, of course, from the Netherlands. I grew up seeing pictures like this in the homes of every one of my parents’ friends. Margreet comments that the traditional clothing worn by the characters is the traditional clothing of Zeeland.

Zeeland back

 

Yesterday, there were two more cards at my computer, one from the US (Chicago, Illinois, to be precise) and one from Germany.

Lesley sent me this card of the “Cloud Gate”. Very cool! It must be quite something to see in “real life”. Isn’t this sculpture also known as “the Bean”, or am I mistaken?

Chicago

 

Chicago back

 

I had to chuckle a little at Lesley’s comment about us not being very far away from each other. I understand that she probably meant that our countries are close and that she doesn’t live far from the Canada/US border but, in reality, she’s closer to Europe than she is to where we live out here in B.C.

Rheinland

 

This card from Inge-Lore shows some of the old buildings in her town, as well as their new city hall. I think I like the old buildings better. We, here out west, just don’t have old buildings like this. I love them!

Rheinland back

 

And that’s it this week.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2013 in Postcards, Postcrossing, Received

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Three More

  1. Elaine Bro

    February 9, 2013 at 6:43 pm

    awesome cards, I’d like to see your collection one day. Great Stamps too

     
    • Ev

      February 9, 2013 at 6:45 pm

      You know where I live, Elaine… come on by!

       
  2. Chris

    February 9, 2013 at 7:02 pm

    Awesome cards!! And yes, I’ve always known that sculpture as “The bean” too 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
