RSS

Oh, Such Fun!

08 Mar

When I walked in my back door today, there were two postcards waiting for me. One of them, even without my glasses on, I knew was from the Netherlands. I chuckled as I picked up the card and examined it. I knew instantly that it had come from the Netherlands as there were quite a few items I recognized. I’d grown up either seeing them, or eating them.

All things Dutch

It was the King peppermints that truly gave it away for me. As children, every time we went to church (which was twice every Sunday), we were each given two King peppermints. They had to last us for the entire service. They usually didn’t. And that final black diamond… salted licorice is still one of my favourite candies. I don’t eat them often anymore but almost every Dutch person knows and likes salted licorice!

All things Dutch back

Riky writes that this card was made by her niece and shows a variety of typical Dutch products. She also writes that the designer included a picture of her Oma (grandmother) as a young woman. I love it!  I have to say, this is one of my favourite cards to date. I love the fact that Riky’s niece designed the card and I love seeing some of the things I know as VERY Dutch!

The second card didn’t get me as excited but  that’s not to say I don’t like it. It’s a picture of the Hotel Baltschug Kempinski in Moscow.

RU1467667

RU1467667 back

The more I see of Moscow, the more I think it would be a fascinating city to visit.

After today’s cards, I think I’m going to change my profile a little bit. I’m starting to get a feel for the cards I really like. Yes, I love the cards that show traditional costumes and anything related to an area’s customs but I’m also finding that I enjoy receiving cards that are self-published. I know there are a lot of Postcrossers who do not want homemade or self-published cards but I am definitely not one of them. I very much appreciate the time and thought that goes into self-made cards.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 8, 2013 in Postcards, Postcrossing, Received

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Oh, Such Fun!

  1. Angelique

    March 5, 2015 at 11:38 am

    I love the Dutch card!

     

Leave a Reply

 
