RSS

Two Weeks Worth

11 May

One would think that I haven’t received any postcards lately, considering the fact that it’s been two weeks since I last posted. One would be wrong, however. Postcards have been arriving but we had company this past week and blogging was put aside temporarily.

In the past two weeks, eight cards arrived in our mailbox. Without further ado, let’s get started.

The first to arrive was this lovely ad card from Singapore.

Singapore AirYes, a lovely ad card. I know there are a lot of Postcrossers who specifically say, “no ad cards” but I’m not one of them. I don’t mind getting them at all. It’s even better when you discover there’s a back story to the ad card. As you can see, Geraldine worked as a stewardess for Singapore Airlines for 13 years.

Singapore Air backThe next card comes from the heart of France, as the map on the card indicates. I really would love to visit France some day.

LAin

LAin backThe next card came from Taiwan. What an exotic looking building!

TW waterfront

TW waterfront backThe next card, from Holland, is the first I’ve received with a die cut. And, of course, all of these things are so familiar to me, being of Dutch extraction. I even had a pair of wooden shoes as a child… and wore them!

Hup Holland

Hup Holland backFor some reason, I really like this next card, from Silvia in Germany. It is a painting of the area around Bonn, Germany.

Bonn

Bonn backThe following day, another card arrived from Germany, this one from Bavaria, which is also an area I would love to visit one day.

DE LudwigII

DE LudwigII backThe next card, I must admit, is my favourite out of this batch of cards.

Sportsmans catchI was a little puzzled at first because it seemed a little strange. Part of the word “THE” was cut off; Saltwater Gamefish Cookbook?? Then I read the back of the card. It’s a handmade card!

Sportsmans Catch backHelen takes the covers of paperback cookbooks and turns them into postcards. I love it! It shows thought and ingenuity and I appreciate that! Truly, I do not understand why a lot of Postcrossers state quite emphatically that they do not want handmade cards. I find that I appreciate those cards more than I do the plain old cards you can pick up in any souvenir shop. To each their own, I suppose.

Today’s final card arrived from China. This is one of Nan’s first five Postcrossing cards sent. That makes it somewhat special. The front of the card, though cute, doesn’t really do much for me; in this case, the back of the card is what makes this card fun.

Nan’s taken me to school! Chinese language school!

Disney

Disney backXie Xie Nan!

Cards have been going out as well, of course. This week, I was inspired to create a series of postcards based on apple crate labels. A couple of years ago, a friend gave me one of these labels as a birthday gift; in some circles, they’re quite the collector’s item. Apples (and other tree fruits) from the Okanagan valley were shipped all over the country and, indeed, the world. Each apple crate had a label and each producer had their own customized apple crate labels.

I’m sure I’ve mentioned before that I work in a print shop and, as such, I have access to all the equipment I need to create custom postcards for myself. Here’s a sample…

Zenith ApplesSo, if you’re a Postcrosser and I get your name, you may be seeing one of these in your mailbox!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 11, 2013 in Postcards, Postcrossing, Received

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
