RSS

Three This Week

09 Jun

It’s been an interesting week around here. I had every intention of putting up a blog post yesterday but my laptop decided I needed a break from the computer, apparently. It seems to have died. I’ve had to resort to using the Mac that my husband has pretty much monopolized for the past three years. It’s been a bit of a learning curve to remember which programs I used to use for different tasks (laptop is pc and I use completely different programs on it).

I have managed, however, and now, without further ado, let’s get to the postcards.

First to arrive this week was a card from Germany, from Oberlausitz, to be precise. Ines writes that this is the area she, her husband and two children live. It looks like a beautiful area!

OberlausitzOberlausitz backA lot of the pictures I’ve received from this part of the world really do remind me of what’s known to British Columbians as the Lower Mainland, the area around Vancouver. I guess it’s the mountains, the green valleys, and the rivers that are all reminiscent of the Lower Mainland area as there is a lot of that.

The second card is one I can certainly appreciate. Dietmar (again, from Germany) took this picture and turned it into a postcard, something I do on a regular basis. Again, the subject (azaleas) is reminiscent of the Lower Mainland. I used to have some of these azaleas in my yard. They grew very well there!

AzaleaAzalea backThe bee in the picture makes it the type of picture I would have taken! Lovely!

This last postcard, from Belarus, looks like something that could have come out of a children’s fairy tale. These cathedrals are so gorgeous!

Belarus churchesAs always, click for a larger image. Aren’t they amazing? On the back, Valentina (who didn’t sign her name) writes about her country. She could be describing parts of the Lower Mainland!

Belarus churches backAnd that’s it for this weekend. Now, I’m being called out to the garden. Hopefully by this time next week, I’ll have my laptop back again… I’m keeping my fingers crossed!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 9, 2013 in Postcards, Received

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
