RSS

Non-Postcrossing Cards

30 Mar

If you are a long-time reader (relatively speaking) of this blog, you know that I’m also a member of Ravelry, a knitting and crochet online community. I’m a member of a letter writing group that recently had a postcard exchange. We were each given three names to write to and, in return, we would receive three cards.

Here are the three I received.

The first one came from Australia, a very dramatic sunset card.

LoP0000

LoP0001

The second card came from Lynn in Vermont, who claims that most of Vermont really looks like this! I love it and I wonder what it looks like in the summer.

LoP0002

LoP0003

The third, and final, card came from Susan in southwestern Ontario. Bear cubs are so cute, aren’t they? When you see a bear cub, though, never forget that Mama Bear is not far away, and very protective!

LoP0004

LoP0005

And that’s it… I’m all caught up, finally.

I do have some wonderful news to share, though. A local friend of mine was telling a friend of hers, who just happens to be a librarian, about Postcrossing. They decided that Postcrossing is something that deserves to be more known about. My friend, who I met through Postcrossing, approached me about getting something organized so I, in turn, met with the head librarian, who asked me to help out with their summer reading program by telling the kids about Postcrossing and, perhaps, having the kids write out and send postcards. I agreed.

I have already designed a couple of posters and some handouts. I’ve also put the message “out there” in a couple of groups on Ravelry and one of the forums on Postcrossing, asking for people to send a postcard to our local library. I’ve also let people know that if they include their return address, we would have the kids send them a postcard in return. So far, the response has been wonderful. I’m eager to see how many postcards the library receives; they should be starting to come in pretty soon.

Exciting?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2014 in Postcards, Received

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Non-Postcrossing Cards

  1. Kevin Miller

    August 19, 2014 at 8:23 pm

    Hi Evelyn,
    The postcard that caught my attention was the one from Canada. I like animal-themed collections! It’s a great idea to get the kids to try out sending postcards. I’m sure it will turn out nicely soon. Can’t wait to see how many postcards the library shall receive.
    I checked out an online stamp catalogue I always visit and found the stamp in the Canada postcard issued on 2013, September 3. It is entitled NHL Team Jerseys. It is part of a 7-stamp set. The one here is the Toronto Maple Leafs.

     
    • Ev

      August 19, 2014 at 9:23 pm

      Thank you for reminding me, Kevin, that I really need to update my blog. I have pictures of the cards received by the library; it was a fun afternoon.

      I really like the hockey stamps; I’ve sent out quite a few!

       

Leave a Reply

 
