RSS

A New Year, A New Start

29 Jan
A New Year, A New Start

Sometimes, it’s good to take a break, to step away from things you’ve been doing for a while but have lost interest in. It took an email from Postcrossing, informing me that my account was going to be set as Inactive to make me realize I’m not ready to drop the sending and receiving of postcards just yet.

In addition, February marks the beginning of InCoWriMo 2017, something I’ve thought about doing in the past. This year, though, I’ve done some reading up about it and have decided to take up the challenge of writing a letter, or card, every day for the entire month. Postcrossing fits right in to that so I’ll definitely be a little more active there.

I know it’s been a while, but I do have a couple of postcards to write about. Both of these cards arrived a while back, October or November.

The first of the two is this one, from Dreams, in Hong Kong. At first I wasn’t all that impressed, really, but then I read the back.

hk451358hk451358back

That’s right… she painted the picture on the front of the card and had cards made! That makes it pretty special. I really do enjoy what other Postcrossers do. The next card is equally great.

ru511832

ru511832back

I love the use of stamps to create a one of a kind postcard. And she’s an avid knitter! It doesn’t get much better than that.

Finally, what do you do with all the postcards you receive? To date, I’ve received 354 postcards and they filled one box, taking up space on my book case. As much as I love receiving them, I don’t really look at them again so I decided to donate them to my grandson’s school. According to my daughter, they were very well received. It’s definitely something to keep in mind for the future.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 29, 2017 in Postcards, Postcrossing, Received

 

Tags: ,

One response to “A New Year, A New Start

  1. Pincodezone

    July 17, 2017 at 10:16 am

    The postal stamps you have shared are very beautiful. And Really Liked Your Blog
    Thank you for sharing

     

Leave a comment